Dept Home




   Welcome to the Elko County Fire Protection District.

The Elko County Fire Protection District (District) was established in Elko County in 1956 by an act of the County Commissioners pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 473. Management of the Elko County Fire Protection District has been provided by Nevada Division of Forestry since it's inception and will continue until January 1, 2015 when the County will resume management  pursuant to Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 474.


The district is responsible for providing all risk emergency services with a combination of paid and volunteer staff throughout all unincorporated portions of Elko County.  The County is the 4th largest County in the Continental U.S. and spans 17,203 square miles. The elevation ranges from 4300 feet on the edge of the Salt Flats to 11,387 feet at the Ruby Mountains. The Fire Protection District consists of 16 Volunteer Fire Departments with approximately 130 Volunteers, 1 twenty-four hour staffed station, 21 VFD stations with about 70 pieces of apparatus, and supporting administrative staff.


We are very proud of our career and Volunteer personnel who have committed themselves to providing protection of life, property and resources to the citizens and visitors of Elko County.