Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)


The purpose of the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) is to provide oversight and management of all provisions of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA Title III), and Emergency Preparedness and Community Right-To-Know Act of 1986. It is to provide inter-agency and organizational planning for the emergency response to hazardous materials.
Membership is by appointment by the County Commissioners, with a maximum of 25 members.

The committee's intent is to provide as much diversity as possible, with representation of the 13 groups or organizations: elected state and local officials; law enforcement; civil defense; firefighter; first aid; health; local environmental; hospital; transportation; broadcast and print media; community groups; owners and operators of facilities subject to the requirements of the Emergency Planning and Right-To-Know Act (EPCRA).

The Elko County LEPC meets, at a minimum, once per quarter. Officers are elected in December by the LEPC membership and approved by the County Commissioners each year.